top of page
Search

Nervous at a photo shoot? Don't be! I gotchu :)

Updated: Mar 26, 2022

Some people are absolutely comfortable and natural in front of the camera; secure in their own skin and totally at ease with their 'best side.' But, for most of us...well, we are just not. Even if the calm and collected look is happening, thoughts creep up...why am I death-gripping my hat like this? What is going on with my smile? How is it possible I am walking like I don't know how to swing my arms? Are my arms even attached to my body? Oh my goll, I never have my arm up like this. This invasive mind-talk is honestly comedic if it wasn't happening during an iconic and personally historic shoot.


Senior milestone is a big one; just on the cusp of a major life transition. To me, it involves saying GOODBYE to protected independence, the comforts of your routines long-established, encircled protection of family and friends and the unique relationships they offer and saying HELLO to unexplored growth, new vulnerabilities, and leaps of independence. It's not a surprise that the words courage and brave present many times over in graduation speeches. Who you have developed into to this point will continue to change and your senior session is really a time stamp for this version of you - who you are RIGHT NOW.

In the 10 years of my evolution as a Southwest Michigan Premiere Senior Session pro, I have learned tricks and strategies to relax my clients and to create opportunities for personality to shine through. Yes, hobbies do tell life stories for sure, but more than that I enjoy creating a natural flow to bring out mannerisms, facial expressions and movement that feels authentic and even candid. It's one of the strengths of the planning meeting prior to the session too. The more I know, the better I can cater. So - don't worry - don't fret - I gotchu!


In the screeching halt that always follows the throws of my senior season, I started dabbling with video collages and realized looking through over 1,000 incredibly gorgeous Class of 2022 portraits - I have patterns. LOTS of patterns. I have things I say...A LOT...during a senior session. It's me trying to create that natural flow I mentioned earlier. Emotional vibrations triggered by glimpses of authentic personality resonate through the lens. I went through my own senior having a session and despite being the one that took the portraits in real time, watching them play back was a wildly emotional ride. I saw my baby girl in such a grown new light. Still there with her funny and yet, intense eyes, but easily sliding into the adult vision of her, I was a pool of emotion. So, needless to say, the video creations I made continued to satiate my artistic need through the winter months. Here are the results. Maybe perspective clients may value the first-person perspective of a shoot with me. Turn on your speakers and come along to see :)



Things I say during a shoot

PART 1 "Look down...then give me your EYES"

I love the candid feel of looking away from the camera. But slammed with the eyes right after - BOOM. Awesome. Nothing like it.






Things I say during a shoot

PART 2 "Frame your...FACE"

Compositionally, this is a classic. Combine with 'quiet eyes' and it can be killer.







Things I say during a shoot

PART 3 "Give me...PEACE"

Another classic, the fun feel of a peace sign thrown at ya...makes you smile. Right?







Things I say during a shoot

PART 4 "Give me...THOUGHTFUL ..or INTENSE"

This prompt is one that I feel can give poetry to the gallery. Clients laugh when I say "That was poetry"...but when you see these images, you will understand. This is what I see through my lens.



Things I say during a shoot

PART 5 "Turn & look toward the source of LIGHT"

Light and the source of it are HUGE when it comes to exposure, mood and tone of an image. I love the results that come from turning to face it...and the eye shine that also tags along is incredible.



Things I say during a shoot

PART 6 "LAUGH"

I'm not really that good at telling jokes or making obnoxious noises like other awesome photographers to trigger laughs from my clients. But over the years I have realized my weak command for my clients to laugh, followed by me saying 'heh heh heh heh' in monotone can get the job done, lol.

Things I say during a shoot

PART 7 "Let's get some MOVEMENT"

Turn, walk, run, kick, spin, dance....etc. Movement in a stopped animation photo can create a beautiful and fun composition and feel. Sometimes it can trigger the perfect candid feeling to make your session more 'real'.




Things I say during a shoot

PART 8 "Show me your PROFILE"

This is a perspective I have ALWAYS had a thing for. When my babies were babies all the way to grown adults. So I feel like as a mom, this is a shot I like to include in a shoot.





Things I say during a shoot

PART 9 Compilation of many things :)

Lay down - lying down allows the best light from the sky to fall over your face - it is beautiful light. If in an alley...there's a wicked cool slit of light that shows up in the eye shine that I LOVE.

Show me just your eyes - eyes are telling...there's a reason they are always where my focus box falls. Bring them front and center for a shot or two and it will move you. Poetry. Point at me - well, this is just candid and fun :)


It's probably helpful to know that I don't blast out all of these and more at every shoot. It is dependent on what I learn from you, location, outfit and more. Realistically, it's a mixed unique recipe for each client.


I want to send out a HUGE THANK YOU to my Class of 2022 clients for being amazing. All of the videos came from that season and were shot between June 2021 - Nov 2021. It was incredibly good for the soul to be able to revisit these sessions and the memories that came with them. I say this a lot, but I TRULY LOVE what I get to do every day between June and November of every year <3 These videos evidence all of the adventures I got to experience. THANK YOU for choosing me for your milestone year!


~Daniall

136 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page